A student in business attire smiles at the audience behind a podium with a mic at Senior Dinner.

Phi Beta Kappa inductee Lwazi Bululu ’24 delivering the Senior Dinner speech at the Morehead Planetarium on April 18, 2024. (Photo by Leon Godwin)

This spring, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill inducted eighteen Morehead-Cain Scholars into Phi Beta Kappa (PBK), the oldest and most prestigious academic honor society in the United States. Less than one percent of college students quality for acceptance.

Spring 2024 inductees

  • Boatemaa Agyeman-Mensah ’25
  • Eleanor Bolton ’25
  • Lwazi Bululu ’24
  • Ana Lucia Ciro ’25
  • Sashank Ganapathiraju ’26
  • Noah Gottlieb ’25
  • Ann Goulian ’25
  • Milena Jojic ’24
  • Makayla Key ’24
  • Jake Patterson ’25
  • Neha Saggi ’25
  • Lia Salvatierra ’24
  • Rebecca Segal ’25
  • Alaina Shields ’25
  • Kate Stukenborg ’24
  • Rory Swenson ’25
  • Helena Walsh ’24
  • Ira Wilder ’24

The organization, founded in 1776, seeks to celebrate “excellence in the liberal arts and sciences” and foster freedom of thought. More than 1,200 Morehead-Cain Scholars have earned membership in PBK since 1957.

PBK members include seventeen U.S. presidents, forty-two Supreme Court justices, and more than 150 Nobel Laureates. The academic honor society has 293 chapters at undergraduate institutions throughout the country. Carolina admitted 298 students as new members to its PBK chapter, Alpha of North Carolina.