Headshots of Makayla Key ’24, Lindley Andrew ’24, and Maya Groff ’24

From left to right: Makayla Key ’24, Lindley Andrew ’24, and Maya Groff ’24

Three Morehead-Cain Scholars have received Chancellor’s Awards, the only campus-wide student recognition program at the University at North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Makayla Key ’24 received a student activity and leadership award while Lindley Andrew ’24 and Maya Groff ’24 received student academic awards.

Recipient: Makayla Key ’24

Irene F. Lee, who served as hostess and counselor in Cornelia Phillips Spencer Hall from 1925 to 1948, established this award in 1955. The award is presented annually to the woman of the senior class who is judged most outstanding in leadership, character, and scholarship.

“Makayla has made her mark as an outstanding model of service, character, and leadership throughout her four years on campus. As president of the Theta Pi Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority and a Morehead-Cain Scholar, she has shown continuously that she is committed to improving herself and finding ways to improve the community, as well.”

Recipient: Lindley Andrew ’24

Established in 1972, this award honors the outstanding senior in the Department of American Studies. Presented in memory of Peter Baxter, a student of American Studies, the prize is awarded to the undergraduate in that discipline who best exemplifies Mr. Baxter’s intellectual excellence, personal warmth, and contribution to the American Studies Program.

“Lindley is a remarkable student who tackles controversial and painful topics with keen intellect and deep human compassion. She is dedicated to using her talents in American Studies, Latin American Studies, and Spanish language studies to advance the interests of underserved communities.”

Recipient: Maya Groff ’24

The Venable Medal was established in 1955 by Rho Chapter of Alpha Chi Sigma and is presented annually by members of that professional chemistry fraternity to the two most outstanding seniors majoring in chemistry. Two medals are awarded. The selection of one recipient is based on scholastic and academic work within the chemistry program. The other is based on outstanding academic work, character, and outstanding contributions to the University community and to chemistry. The awards bear the name of Francis Preston Venable, chemistry professor from 1880 to 1930 and president of the University from 1900 to 1914.

“Maya co-founded the STEM Sisters program and serves as its president, is an engaged contributor to Carolina Scientific, and is an active member of the Lawrence research lab. She is recognized as a talented scientist committed to enhancing diversity in STEM.”

Published Date

May 6, 2024


Academic Excellence, Awards and Honors, Education

Article Type

News, Scholar Stories