chancellor_awards0338kpoNine Morehead-Cain Scholars are among the students honored by Chancellor Carol L. Folt with the Chancellor’s Award—the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s most prestigious award for academic achievement and leadership.

The University honored all Chancellor’s Awards recipients during a ceremony on April 18, 2017. The awards highlight students for their achievements in academic endeavors across all disciplines as well as their leadership on campus. The Chancellor’s Awards is the only campus-wide student recognition program at Carolina.

Scholar recipients include:

Anna Dodson ’18
Edward McGowan Hedgpeth Award

Established in 1964, this award is given by the Beta Chapter of Alpha Epsilon Delta, International Premedical Honor Society. It is named for a charter member and advisor of Beta Chapter, a physician who served for thirty years as Director of the Student Health Service and for fifteen years as chairman of the admissions committee of the Medical School. The award is given annually to two undergraduate members of Alpha Epsilon Delta who are voted most outstanding in service to the campus and community through the society.

Morgan Pergande ’17
Interfraternity Council Man of the Year Award

Established by the Interfraternity Council, the Panhellenic Council, the National Pan-Hellenic Council, and the Greek Alliance Council, these awards are presented annually to four undergraduates who have made the most significant contributions in the areas of leadership, scholarship, service to their individual chapters, and Greek and University Communities.

Travis Broadhurst ’18
Ernest L. Mackie Award

This award was established in 1978 by the Order of the Old Well in memory of one of its charter members, Ernest L. Mackie, professor of Mathematics. Dr. Mackie also served as dean of students, dean of student awards and distinctions, and secretary-treasurer of Phi Beta Kappa. The award is presented to the man of the junior class who has been judged most outstanding in character, scholarship, and leadership.

Tony Liu ’17
McNally Award for Excellence in Geography

This award, a monetary prize and an international atlas is given annually to a graduating senior who is selected by the geography faculty based on superior academic performance. This award was established by Andrew McNally IV, Class of 1963.

Harry Edwards ’17
John Johnston Parker, Jr. Medal for Unique Leadership in Student Government

This award was established in1941 by Judge and Mrs. John J. Parker in memory of their son, John Johnston Parker, Jr., Class of 1937, who served with distinction as president of the then Student Council. A medal is awarded annually to that member of the senior class who has demonstrated the highest qualities of leadership in perpetuating the spirit and honor of student self-government.

Lauren Kent ’17 and Katherine Stotesbery ’17
L. Richardson Preyer Award for Excellence in Political Science

Established in 2002, this award is given to a senior judged by a committee of the faculty to have established the most distinguished record of scholarship in Political Science and service to the community.

Meredith Miller ’17
Undergraduate Prize In Art History

This award was established in 1979 by the Department of Art. It is given annually to the undergraduate who, in the opinion of the faculty committee, has done the most outstanding work in art history.

Ariana Vaisey ’17
Undergraduate Prize In Economics

This award has been established by the Department of Economics to honor excellence in economic studies. It is given annually to the undergraduate majoring in economics who is judged to be the most outstanding based on performance in major and related courses.